

Minutes of Meeting of January 3, 2013

Chair Larry Aubertine called the Regular Meeting of the Clayton Local Development Corporation to order at 4:03 p.m. in the Town of Clayton Board Room on Riverside Drive in Clayton. Also in attendance were Bud Baril, Vice Chair; Justin Taylor, Treasurer; and John Slattery, Secretary; along with Board Members Michael Docteur (4:17), Mike Geiss, Kathy LaClair, and Norma Zimmer. Chris Bogenschutz, Assistant Secretary; Cary Brick, Walt Christensen, Lori Durand, Rebecca Hopfinger, Frank House, and John Kehoe were excused. Executive Director Kristi Dippel, and advisors Mike Bristol, Bill Grater, and Paul Heckmann were also present.

While waiting for a quorum to arrive, Larry asked Bud to give the Parking Committee Report. The Committee is considering parking meters and is looking at such locations as Webb Street, Riverside Drive, and the Lions Field and will be meeting with merchants and other stakeholders in February.

The Governance Committee had no report.

Executive Director Kristi Dippel distributed her monthly Administrative Report which included a summary of grant awards, a PAAA status report, and possible goals for 2013, copies of which are attached to these minutes. Michael Docteur present.

After discussion of the proposed 2013 goals, on motion by Justin Taylor, second by John Slattery, the Board unanimously adopted Goals 1, 2, 3, 8, and 9 for primary focus in 2013. These goals relate to the Clayton Harbor Hotel development, the Clayton Transient Docking Facility, the extension of the Clayton Riverwalk to the Veterans' Monument, the Walkability Audit, and planning for the next phase of the Clayton Riverwalk.

On motion by Bud Baril, second by Norma Zimmer, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the Annual Meeting of December 6, 2012. On motion by Mike Geiss, second by Kathy LaClair, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the regular meeting of December 6, 2012.

Treasurer Taylor presented one bill for approval in the amount of \$2,380 which, when paid, will leave a balance of \$4,252.70 in the CLDC checking account. He noted that the Town's Capital Money Market Account shows a balance of \$91,301.79. The Frink Capital Checking Account shows a balance of \$7,020.09. There is \$10,076.24 in the Frink Redevelopment Savings account and \$29,739.98 in the Frink Redevelopment Checking Account. The Frink Capital Bond remains at \$877,500. For the Riverwalk II Account, \$100,000 is due the Town of Clayton Community Development Fund when the cash flow bond is established. CLDC owes Frink Capital \$15,000 for advances on the Main Street Grant. On motion by Kathy LaClair second by Mike Geiss, the Board unanimously approved the Treasurer's Report and payment of the bill, copies of which are attached to these minutes.

For the Redevelopment Committee, Paul Heckmann noted that Krog has been busy. Chair Larry Aubertine thanked Paul for all his diligent work on the project.

For the Transient Dock Operations Committee, Bud Baril noted that the Committee wil be ready to make recommendations regarding building design and amenities. We will be using Kingston's help in moving forward. On motion by Bud Baril, second by Kathy LaClair, the Board authorized the Chair to sign a change order to ATM in the approximate amount of \$235,000. Larry voted "nay."

Under Old Business, several legal details needed to be clarified: on motion by Mike Geiss, second by Bud Baril, the Board unanimously reapproved the Land Disposition Agreement including the approval of the transfer of 1.37 acres of the Frink Property from joint ownership to Town of Clayton ownership and 7.04 acres from joint ownership to CLDC ownership.

Under New Business, the intention of Clayton Associates to continue to support Clayton including maintaining its Clayton webpage and Facebook page was noted.

The Chair declared that the next meeting of the CLDC Board will be held February 7, 2013, in the Town of Clayton Board Room beginning at 4:00 p.m.

With no further business to come before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m. on motion by Kathy LaClair, second by Michael Docteur.

**Respectfully submitted,** 

John E. Slattery, Secretary